Books, Journalism, Writing

VIDEO: The Irish Book Awards

The shortlist for the Irish Book Awards was announced this week in Dublin. Bestselling authors Cecelia Ahern and Marita Conlon-McKenna spoke to me for UTV Ireland on how they felt about being nominated and why they think their books stand out.

Here’s a round-up of the nominees:

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

  • All We Shall Know – Donal Ryan
  • Days Without End – Sebastian Barry
  • Solar Bones – Mike McCormack
  • The Lesser Bohemians – Eimear McBride
  • The Wonder – Emma Donoghue
  • This Must Be The Place – Maggie O’Farrell
  • Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year

  • Game of Throw-Ins – Ross O’Carroll-Kelly
  • Holding – Graham Norton
  • Lyrebird – Cecelia Ahern
  • Rebel Sisters – Marita Conlon-McKenna
  • The Girl From The Savoy – Hazel Gaynor
  • The Privileged – Emily Hourican
Marita Conlon-McKenna

RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners’ Choice Award

  • All Through The Night – edited by Marie Heaney
  • All We Shall Know – Donal Ryan
  • Conclave – Robert Harris
  • Dictatorship: My Teenage War With OCD – Rebecca Ryan
  • Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent
  • Victim Without A Face – Stefan Ahnhem

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

  • Himself – Jess Kidd
  • Red Dirt – E.M. Reapy
  • The Last Days of Summer – Vanessa Ronan
  • The Maker of Swans – Paraic O’Donnell
  • The Things I Should Have Told You – Carmel Harrington
  • This Living and Immortal Thing – Austin Duffy Best Irish-Published Book of the Year

  • All Through the Night – edited by Marie Heaney
  • Dublin Since 1922 – Tim Carey
  • Looking Back: The Changing Faces of Ireland – Eric Luke
  • Modern Ireland in 100 Artworks – edited by Fintan O’Toole
  • The Glass Shore – edited by Sinéad Gleeson
  • The Invisible Art: A Century of Music in Ireland 1916-2016 – edited by Michael Dervan

Books Are My Bag Crime Fiction Book of the Year

  • Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard
  • Little Bones by Sam Blake
  • Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent
  • The Constant Soldier – William Ryan
  • The Drowning Child – Alex Barclay
  • The Trespasser – Tana French
Authors Sam Blake, Alex Barclay and Catherine Ryan Howard

Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

  • Adventures Of A Wonky-Eyed Boy – Jason Byrne
  • Fat Chance – Louise McSharry
  • Making It Up As I Go Along – Marian Keyes
  • Mr Pussy: Before I Forget To Remember – Alan Amsby and David Kenny
  • Pippa – Pippa O’Connor
  • Talking To Strangers – Michael Harding
  • Adventures Of A Wonky-Eyed Boy by Jason Byrne

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year

  • I Read The News Today, Oh Boy – Paul Howard
  • Ireland: The Autobiography – John Bowman
  • The Hurley Maker’s Son – Patrick Deeley
  • The Supreme Court – Ruadhán Mac Cormaic
  • Time Pieces: A Dublin Memoir – John Banville and Paul Joyce
  • When Ideas Matter – Michael D. Higgins

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year

  • Natural Born Feeder – Roz Purcell
  • Neven Maguire’s Complete Family Cookbook – Neven Maguire
  • Recipes For A Nervous Breakdown – Sophie White
  • The Brother Hubbard Cookbook – Garrett Fitzgerald
  • The Little Green Spoon – Indy Power
  • The World of the Happy Pear – Stephen and David Flynn
A snapshot from The World of the Happy Pear

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

  • Blood, Sweat and McAteer – Jason McAteer
  • Coolmore Stud: Ireland’s Greatest Sporting Success Story – Alan Conway
  • My Life In Rugby – Donal Lenihan
  • Out of Control – Cathal McCarron
  • The Battle – Paul O’Connell
  • Win or Learn – John Kavanagh

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior

  • A Child of Books – Sam Winston and Oliver Jeffers
  • Goodnight Everyone – Chris Haughton
  • Historopedia – Fatti and John Burke
  • Pigín Of Howth – Kathleen Watkins, illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs
  • Rabbit and Bear: Rabbit’s Bad Habits – Julian Gough and Jim Field
  • Rover and the Big Fat Baby – Roddy Doyle, illustrated by Chris Judge

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior

  • Flawed – Cecelia Ahern
  • Knights of the Borrowed Dark – Dave Rudden
  • Needlework – Deirdre Sullivan
  • Nothing Tastes As Good – Claire Hennessy
  • The Book of Shadows – E.R. Murray
  • The Making of Mollie – Anna Carey

books2 Short Story of the Year

  • Green Amber Red – Jane Casey
  • Here We Are – Lucy Caldwell
  • K-K-K – Lauren Foley
  • The Birds of June – John Connell
  • The Visit – Orla McAlinden
  • What A River Remembers Of Its Course – Gerard Beirne

Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year

  • In Glasnevin – Jane Clarke
  • Love/Hotel/Love – Michael Naghten Shanks
  • Patagonia – Emma McKervey
  • Suppose I Lost – Andrew Soye

Congratulations to all. You can vote for your favourite book in each category on the Irish Book Awards website. Voting closes at midnight on Friday 11th November.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s